update on luke, written by the man himself, jan 8 2008

Hi. I arrived safely in Cairo. I had a night to spend in Dubai, which was cool. Lisi and I had a blast. Check her website for stories of course. I climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro. Pretty cool. To save $, I found a way to do it the “hard way”; I carried my own (five days worth of) food and gear. Everyone else had 4 (seriously) porters each, and at each stop a tablecloth, napkin, silverware, fresh warm water for washing, choice of tea, coffee, powdered milk, powdered chocolate milk, jars of honey, PB, jellies, ketchup, chilli sauce, fresh fruit, and three course meals, and a chance to feel like an 18th century slave owner… I carried my own stuff, ate bread and peanut butter every meal (and scavenged and used my jedi powers), and was quite unprepared for the arctic blasts at the top (-20 with 30 mph winds). But my guide’s name was Godliving, so I followed in the footsteps of Godliving, let Godliving be my guide, and made it. 19,3000ft, including a summit climb starting at 11:30pm and ending with sunrise on top.

Bush is coming to the middle east this week, so I’ll be checking the news to see how that goes over. Otherwise, it’s some couchsurfing, some pyramids, some nile, and taking it from there.

Luke

luke on his way up the mountain

~ by aliciawolcott on January 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
