six weeks left in hungary

i’ve been here almost two years and now i’m starting to count down the days until i have to say goodbye. the weather’s just turned cold, leaves are falling, and as i ride my bicycle around town, my fingers going numb, i find myself taking mental pictures- trying to capture this experience and take it with me. with the change in weather has come a change in mood not only in me, but the hungarians as well. you don’t see people strolling around with ice cream cones like they did all summer, at all times of day. there always seemed to be a festival going on, or being prepared, and now downtown is quiet. the people are still as friendly as ever. my old friend pista is back from the hospital and at his morning post in front of the church on my walk to school, offering friendly chit-chat to those, like myself, who will listen.

~ by aliciawolcott on November 4, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
